Racks & WattsLOCAL HARDWARE / CLEAR PICKS

Power and cooling

Best plug-in power meter for a homelab: P4400 vs alternatives

Compare Kill A Watt P4400, HBN U167J and Kasa KP115 for US outlets: vendor accuracy claims, load limits, retained totals, app history and hardware specifications.

OUR PICKS / YOUR SETUP

Find your fit.

Choose HBN U167J for local readings and cumulative totals that survive unplugging. Choose Kasa KP115 for app-based energy history if a controllable smart plug fits. Choose P4400 when you prefer its stand-alone LCD interface.

  • Local totalsHBN U167J
  • App historyKasa KP115
  • Classic LCDP4400
Read this if

A builder buying a meter for a compatible US outlet and a defined bench load, choosing between local totals and app history.

Think twice if

A 240 V installation, a load outside the exact product's instructions, or a need for independently verified low-load accuracy or interval logging.

How we evaluate hardware.

Want readings that can trigger a notification? Our Home Assistant smart-plug guide compares local metering paths and shows how to turn watts into useful automations.

Buy the meter that gives you the record you need

For a simple bench measurement, our local-display pick is the HBN U167J. It has a local display, a single-rate cost calculation and cumulative memory. For readings you can revisit in an app, choose the Kasa KP115. For the familiar button-driven Kill A Watt interface, the P4400 is the interface pick; its counters reset when power is removed.

Research note: These are vendor specifications, not our own meter tests or calibration results. Confirm the exact model, condition, included accessories and seller terms on Amazon before buying.

P4400 vs HBN vs Kasa: the buying table

Meter Vendor accuracy claim / display resolution Maximum load in vendor instructions Measurements shown Logging and retention
P3 Kill A Watt P4400 Advertised 0.2%; W increment not stated in reviewed instructions; energy display starts at 0.01 kWh 115 V operating, 125 V maximum; 15 A; 1,875 VA maximum Local LCD: V, A, W, VA, Hz, PF, kWh, elapsed time Cumulative totals; removing power resets counters; no interval log documented
HBN U167J Manual claims 0.2%; 0.1 W display, whole watts above 1,000 W; 0.01 kWh below 100 kWh 125 V, 60 Hz; 15 A / 1,875 W resistive; 10 A / 1,250 W tungsten Local LCD: V, A, W, VA, Hz, PF, kWh, elapsed time, single-rate cost Cumulative energy/time/cost memory; no interval export documented
TP-Link Kasa KP115 Vendor FAQ says around 3–5% error; display resolution not specified 100–120 V input; 15 A / 1,800 W maximum at 120 V Real-time power and historical consumption in app; no local meter screen App history; exact interval logging and CSV export not established for this model

Accuracy claims are not interchangeable calibration classes. Display resolution is the smallest step shown, not proof of an equally small measurement error. W means real power, VA apparent power and PF power factor. Keep the table’s load types and voltage limits attached to their numbers.

Retained local totals: HBN U167J

Its useful buying advantages are the backlit display and retained cumulative totals. The manufacturer page says kWh, elapsed time and total cost survive power failure.

That matters when you want to read an accumulated result after moving the meter. It does not make the HBN an interval logger: a retained total cannot reconstruct when individual jobs ran or show a time-stamped load curve.

Choose it for a bounded local measurement where you will record the results yourself. If you enter an electricity rate, remember that its cost display uses a single rate. For a tariff that changes with time or consumption, keep the energy reading and apply the appropriate billing calculation separately.

The manual also makes the load distinction clearer than the product page: the resistive and tungsten ratings differ. Follow the manual and the label on the delivered unit rather than treating the largest watt figure as universal.

When the P4400 still makes sense

Buy the P4400 if you specifically prefer its stand-alone interface and want its local W, VA and power-factor readouts. Choose a different meter when app history or power-loss memory is required.

The P3 operation manual says removing power momentarily resets the counters. Write down accumulated kWh and elapsed time before unplugging it. Leaving it in place for the chosen measurement period is a different workflow from moving it around and checking the totals later.

P3’s product page advertises 0.2% accuracy, but that headline does not supply a watt-specific tolerance schedule for every load. Compare the scope of the accuracy claim before using it to choose a meter. Choose HBN for retained local totals or P4400 for its specific interface.

Best for app history: Kasa KP115

The US product page documents real-time and historical consumption monitoring through the Kasa app. Choose it when revisiting readings through an app matters more than having a display at the outlet.

It is also a remotely controlled switch. For equipment that must stay powered, consider the control path as part of the purchase: app controls, timers and other enabled switching features are separate from energy monitoring. Check the behaviour you need before putting an important load behind it.

App-based access also adds a software workflow. Check account and cloud requirements before choosing it. A buyer who wants to read a screen without that dependency should choose a stand-alone meter instead. Do not assume the KP115 provides a local-only archive, an open logging API or a particular CSV history. Buy it for the documented app history; if exportable interval records are essential, establish support for the exact model before ordering.

Small-load comparisons need more than extra digits

A display showing tenths of a watt can still have a larger measurement error. Likewise, two products printing the same percentage are not necessarily using the same test conditions or tolerance definition.

For rough running-cost planning, accumulated energy over a representative period is often the useful record. For a small claimed improvement, establish whether the instrument and method can distinguish the change. None of these purchase listings is evidence that a tiny standby-power difference has been resolved.

The TP-Link FAQ places its energy monitoring around 3–5% error and describes it as non-professional measurement. Treat that as vendor guidance for the feature, not a calibration certificate or a precise low-load error bound.

Match the reading to cost or UPS planning

Adding a fabrication corner? Use our homelab 3D printer guide to choose the printer, then meter a complete print job for your running-cost calculation.

For electricity cost, define what is downstream of the meter and keep that boundary consistent. Measuring the box alone and measuring a group of devices answer different questions. The monthly-cost guide explains how to use accumulated kWh and a rate from the bill.

For example, 1.2 kWh over 24 hours gives an average of 50 W. If that daily usage continued for 30 days at $0.20/kWh, the energy cost would be $7.20. Those are illustrative inputs, not bench readings. Record elapsed time with energy so the average has a defined basis.

For UPS selection, preserve W and VA as separate quantities. A reading that includes the UPS and battery charging is not simply the protected equipment’s demand. The UPS-sizing guide connects the load budget to runtime and shutdown requirements. A plug-in meter does not prove battery runtime or capture every startup transient. Once you have the protected W/VA budget, the small-rack UPS buying comparison connects it to actual APC, CyberPower and Eaton options.

Want to see what happens after the charger? Our USB-C power meter guide covers PD voltage, current and cable e-markers; keep the wall meter for total AC consumption.

Check the fit, then choose

Check the grounded outlet, regional version, exact load and manufacturer instructions before ordering. A maximum current or watt rating is not a promise that an arbitrary rack can run there continuously. Do not use these US versions as a route into a different-voltage installation.

Retained local totals: buy the HBN U167J. App-based history: buy the Kasa KP115 if its switching and software workflow fit. Classic Kill A Watt interface: choose the P4400, knowing to record its totals before power removal. Buy the data workflow you need, using the documented measurement scope and load limits.

Want to see hardwired loads as well as outlets? Our Home Assistant CT energy-monitoring guide covers whole-home and branch-circuit monitors, then builds an Energy dashboard.

Your combined router, modem and NAS reading also feeds our portable power-station runtime worksheet. It includes fixed inverter overhead, which can matter as much as the router load.

For the DC output side of a bench supply, a programmable electronic load lets you set the current draw and inspect the source’s response.

Sources & methodology

Where these facts come from.

Source dates are listed above.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Parts from this article

The gear, on Amazon

The models recommended above, with the specifications that matter for your choice.

Retained local totals

HBN U167J power meter with backlight

Choose for a backlit local display and retained cumulative readings.

Backlit LCDRetained totals
Check price on Amazon →

App-history pick

TP-Link Kasa KP115 US energy-monitoring smart plug

Choose for consumption history in the Kasa app.

Energy monitoringKasa app
Check price on Amazon →

Classic local readout

P3 Kill A Watt P4400

Choose for standalone readings and the familiar P4400 button layout.

Local LCDkWh + elapsed time
Check price on Amazon →

Prepared by Racks & Watts.