Racks & WattsLOCAL HARDWARE / CLEAR PICKS

NAS controller buying

Best SATA/HBA expansion card for a homelab NAS

Compare four SATA and IT-mode HBA cards with hardware specifications, controller chips, PCIe lanes, boot limits and cable contents. Picks for a homelab NAS.

OUR PICKS / YOUR SETUP

Find your fit.

Five SATA data drives: IO CREST SI-PEX40139, with boot elsewhere. Six SATA ports: StarTech 6P6G. Spare PCIe M.2 slot: SilverStone ECS07. Eight channels or SAS: the seller-flashed IT-mode LSI 9300-8i, with suitable cables and airflow.

  • Five SATA drivesIO CREST · data only
  • Six SATA portsStarTech 6P6G
  • SAS / eight channels9300-8i IT
Read this if

A NAS needing additional direct SATA connections or an IT-mode SAS HBA, with the exact slot, boot and cable plan checked.

Think twice if

Enough existing motherboard ports, a hardware-RAID requirement or a purchase based only on an unverified speed or idle-power claim.

How we evaluate hardware.

Match the card to the enclosure as well as the slot: our compact DIY NAS case guide covers low-profile brackets, cable exits and the drive space a longer card can consume.

Adding PCIe NVMe drives rather than SATA or SAS disks? Our NVMe expansion-card guide explains ASUS Hyper bifurcation, HighPoint switching and the shared host-link bandwidth.

Which SATA card or HBA should you buy?

Buy the IO CREST SI-PEX40139 for up to five SATA data drives when the operating system boots elsewhere. Buy the StarTech 6P6G-PCIE-SATA-CARD when you need six native SATA ports. Choose the SilverStone ECS07 when a suitable PCIe M.2 slot is available and you want to keep a conventional expansion slot free.

For eight direct drive connections or SAS disks, choose the LSI SAS 9300-8i IT-mode listing only with the right slot, cables and airflow. This particular offer is described as StorageTekPro-flashed IT mode; check the delivered firmware and seller terms before building the pool.

If the motherboard already provides enough suitable SATA ports, use them. An expansion card solves a connection shortage. It does not add drive bays, power connectors, redundancy or a backup.

Research note: Vendor specifications; no benchmarks of these shortlisted products are claimed. Confirm the exact model, condition, included accessories and seller terms on Amazon before buying.

Compare controller specifications

These port counts mean direct drive connections. They do not multiply advertised capacity through optional port multipliers or SAS expanders.

Card / controller Direct ports PCIe link / physical fit RAID or IT mode Data cables included
IO CREST SI-PEX40139 / JMB585 5 SATA Gen3 x2 / x4 or larger slot Non-RAID; data only, no OS boot 3 SATA
StarTech 6P6G / ASM1166 6 SATA Gen3 x2 controller / x4 slot Non-RAID None; sold separately
SilverStone ECS07 / JMB585 5 SATA Gen3 x2 / PCIe M.2 slot Non-RAID Quantity not stated
LSI 9300-8i / SAS3008 8 SAS/SATA channels Gen3 x8 / suitable x8 or larger slot Seller-flashed IT listing Quantity not stated

Card sources: Syba/IO CREST, StarTech, SilverStone’s published product sheet, and Broadcom’s 9300-family brief. The SilverStone document is the manufacturer’s sheet hosted on a document mirror.

The 9300-8i has two SFF-8643 connectors carrying eight direct drive channels. Count drive connections separately from connector housings.

IO CREST: five data drives, not boot

Choose the SI-PEX40139 for five SATA data connections when the OS boots elsewhere. Its JMB585 controller and listed low-profile bracket fit the documented expansion role.

It uses JMicron’s JMB585 controller and provides five SATA connections. Its low-profile bracket is identified in the selected listing.

The decisive restriction comes directly from Syba: this card is for storage use and cannot boot an OS or system drive. Keep the boot device on another supported controller. Do not buy it as a cure for a shortage of bootable motherboard ports.

The vendor package lists three SATA cables. Filling all five ports therefore requires two additional data cables, unless you already have suitable ones. Connecting fewer drives does not require filling the empty sockets. Also check that the case has the bays and supported drive-power connections for the planned additions.

Buy the IO CREST card when those limits fit. For choosing the disks themselves, our NAS hard-drive buying guide compares exact CMR models and capacities. Decide the drive layout before ordering a card merely because it offers more ports.

StarTech: six native SATA ports

Choose the 6P6G-PCIE-SATA-CARD for six native SATA ports and a documented full-height/low-profile bracket kit.

Its package includes a full-height bracket already installed and a low-profile bracket for the other chassis format.

SATA data cables are explicitly sold separately. Budget six cables for six directly attached drives, or reuse compatible cables in good condition. The documented package does not include a data-cable kit.

Read the slot description carefully. StarTech specifies a physical PCIe x4 connector. ASMedia’s ASM1166 specification identifies the controller’s upstream connection as PCIe Gen3 x2. The longer connector does not turn it into a four-lane controller.

Choose the StarTech card for six native SATA ports and its bracket package. Choose IO CREST for five data ports when boot stays elsewhere. Neither choice establishes a measured throughput, idle-power or reliability advantage.

SilverStone: keep a conventional slot free

Choose the ECS07 when a suitable PCIe-wired M.2 slot is free. Its five-port JMB585 controller uses a Gen3 x2 upstream connection.

It places a five-port JMB585 controller on an M.2 card, using a PCIe Gen3 x2 connection. It needs a suitable PCIe-wired M.2 slot, not a SATA-only M.2 socket. Calling the host slot an “NVMe slot” does not make the attached SATA drives NVMe devices.

Check the space around the socket as well as its electrical support. SilverStone’s sheet gives dimensions of 24.8 × 10.3 × 80.5 mm. Its installation manual discusses a spacer and possible interference with a neighbouring expansion slot. Allow room for the card, heatsink and cable exits rather than checking only the mounting length.

The reviewed sheet and manual do not establish a supplied SATA-cable quantity. Confirm the seller’s contents and budget separately; “not stated” is different from a verified empty cable kit.

Buy the ECS07 when this layout solves a real fit problem. Check the motherboard manual for connections disabled or shared when that M.2 socket is occupied. The purchase consumes a storage expansion path that might otherwise hold an SSD.

LSI 9300-8i: eight channels or SAS drives

Choose the 9300-8i for eight direct drive channels or SAS disks. Broadcom specifies SAS3008, PCIe 3.0 x8, 12 Gb/s SAS and 6 Gb/s SATA; connecting a SATA disk does not make it a 12 Gb/s device.

Broadcom specifies a SAS3008 controller, PCIe 3.0 x8, 12 Gb/s SAS and 6 Gb/s SATA support. A SATA disk does not become a 12 Gb/s device when connected to it.

The selected offer explicitly says New and IT mode, with StorageTekPro flashing in the title. IT firmware exposes individual drives for the storage software instead of using the controller’s optional RAID workflow. TrueNAS’s hardware guidance explains the IT-versus-IR distinction. Confirm the exact delivered controller identity and firmware mode/version before adding pool data.

Plan the physical installation too. Broadcom’s brief specifies 200 LFM airflow—linear feet per minute—for this hardware family. That is a design requirement, not a fan-speed setting or our acoustic result. A quiet case with little directed airflow needs a cooling plan before this card earns its place.

The seller offer does not establish an included breakout-cable quantity. For eight directly attached SATA drives, plan the appropriate two four-drive leads from the SFF-8643 controller connectors, or the correct backplane cabling. Buy the IT-mode 9300-8i offer for that requirement, with seller support and return terms checked.

Check lanes, power management and boot needs

Slot size and wired lanes are separate checks. Read the exact motherboard’s slot and sharing table, including what happens when other cards or M.2 devices are installed. The table above states the controllers’ documented links; it does not promise that every available slot provides them.

JMicron specifies PCIe Gen3 x2 for JMB585, not five PCIe lanes. Five describes its SATA-port count. All attached drives share the upstream connection, so adding their individual SATA ratings does not produce a measured host transfer rate.

Power-saving support also needs careful interpretation. ASMedia lists L1 and L1-substate capabilities; JMicron lists PCIe link-layer power saving. Those controller features do not establish which states a particular card, firmware and motherboard combination actually uses. Check the intended configuration rather than buying on an unsourced ASPM fix or idle-watt claim. ASPM is PCIe link power management, not a guarantee of whole-system savings.

Keep the boot plan explicit. Syba excludes OS boot on the SI-PEX40139. For the others, confirm the exact card and motherboard firmware’s boot support if that is required; broad OS compatibility is not a boot guarantee. Using a separate supported boot device keeps that requirement out of a data-card purchase.

Match the cables and the storage stack

SATA cards and SAS HBAs are different protocol choices. The 9300-8i supports SAS and SATA; changing a cable does not give a SATA-only controller SAS support. StarTech’s cable datasheet illustrates the SFF-8643 controller-to-four-SATA-drive arrangement. Match the host-to-drive direction and backplane connectors before ordering, and provide drive power separately.

For ZFS, OpenZFS recommends an HBA rather than hardware RAID. A non-RAID AHCI SATA card is not an LSI firmware-flashing project. Use the intended software’s supported direct-drive path, and verify disk identities and health reporting. Our ZFS vs mdadm vs hardware RAID guide explains who owns the array and filesystem.

Before keeping the purchase, check every intended drive connection, the actual operating-system workload and restart behaviour within the return terms. Record controller identity, firmware and cable layout. Keep recovery separate: the RAID, snapshots and backups guide explains why more connections and a redundant array do not replace an independent backup.

Keeping a tower with external optical bays? Our hot-swap SATA drive-cage guide compares front-access trays and trayless cages, with the bay, data-channel and power-connector counts for five or eight HDDs.

Sources & methodology

Where these facts come from.

Source dates are listed above.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Parts from this article

The gear, on Amazon

The models recommended above, with the specifications that matter for your choice.

Five SATA data drives

IO CREST SI-PEX40139 five-port SATA card

Choose to add five SATA data drives while booting from another controller.

JMB5855 SATA portsData drives only
Check price on Amazon →

Six native SATA ports

StarTech 6P6G-PCIE-SATA-CARD six-port SATA card

Choose when your NAS needs six additional SATA connections.

ASM11666 SATA portsPCIe x4 slot
Check price on Amazon →

Keep the expansion slot free

SilverStone ECS07 M.2 five-port SATA card

Choose to add SATA connections through a compatible M.2 slot.

JMB5855 SATA portsPCIe M.2
Check price on Amazon →

Eight-drive or SAS build

LSI SAS 9300-8i, StorageTekPro-flashed IT-mode New listing

Choose for direct SAS or SATA drive access with suitable cabling and airflow.

SAS30088 drive channelsIT-mode listing
Check price on Amazon →

Prepared by Racks & Watts.